Education Foundation

Right now, a student is having a learning experience made better by the work that we do.
Investing in education now to impact our future.
One teacher can inspire the lives of many.
Innovation in and outside of the classroom.
Enhancing the quality of education for all.

One elementary school teacher, one high school teacher, and one middle school teacher are starting off 2023 right. A panel of six independent judges named three deserving individuals as finalists for the 2024 Lake County Schools Teacher of the Year.

The three finalists were notified today by Superintendent Diane Kornegay, School Board members, and a caravan of representatives from the district, the Education Foundation of Lake County and various sponsors including Jenkins Auto Group and Ernie Morris Enterprises. “We are fortunate to have outstanding teachers in Lake County, and today it was an honor to recognize a few of our very best for their professionalism and dedication to student achievement,” said Superintendent Diane Kornegay. 

The entourage visited Daniel Dilocker, a technology and robotics teacher at East Ridge Middle; Jessica Noblin, 5th grade teacher at Leesburg Elementary; and Don Dickson, a 10-12 ELA teacher at Umatilla High to honor each along with their respective principals, school staff and students.

At a celebration on February 2nd, one of the three finalists will be named Lake’s newest Teacher of the Year and will drive away with the grand prize, a 2023 Hyundai Elantra from Jenkins Auto Group. Ernie Morris Enterprises will be providing a new chair for every nominee and will be installing a 21st Century Classroom designed to the winner’s specifications. The Lake winner will go on to compete at the state level for the title of Florida Teacher of the Year.

To read more about the finalists, read the press release.