Education Foundation

Right now, a student is having a learning experience made better by the work that we do.
Investing in education now to impact our future.
One teacher can inspire the lives of many.
Innovation in and outside of the classroom.
Enhancing the quality of education for all.

Lake County Schools will welcome its fourth class of Alumni Hall of Fame inductees at 4 p.m. Tuesday, April 14, 2020, with a first-time virtual announcement.

Amidst the current pandemic, we are encouraging everyone to continue taking safety precautions through social distancing. Therefore, the virtual announcement will replace our traditional Alumni Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Inductees will be announced in a short video highlighting their successes.

Last year, inductees were announced ahead of the induction ceremony and were honored in front of their families, friends, and community at the “Night of Stars” event hosted by the Education Foundation of Lake County. This year, inductees will not be announced ahead of the virtual reveal on April 14 on the district’s Facebook page (@lakeschools). Although the public cannot physically meet to celebrate, the hope is that the element of surprise will assist in bringing everyone together in excitement for the 2020 inductees.

The district’s School Related Employee of the Year and Volunteer of the Year will be announced online the following day, April 15, at 10 a.m. during a Facebook Live event on both the district’s and the foundation’s Facebook pages (@lakeschools and @edfoundationlc).

The Alumni Hall of Fame video will be added to the virtual hall of fame on the Lake County Schools’ main website and photos of the 2020 inductees will be added to the Lake County Schools Alumni Hall of Fame wall display in the lobby of the Tavares district office.

The Lake County Schools Alumni Hall of Fame was established in 2016 to honor graduates who have built on what they learned as an LCS student to distinguish themselves through outstanding personal and professional accomplishments. 

Last year’s inductees included:

·       Major General David W. Coffman – Eustis High School class of 1981

·       Mayor John H. Christian – Leesburg High School class of 1989

·       Sheriff Peyton Grinnell – Leesburg High School class of 1986

·       Gary Semanchik – Leesburg High School class of 1986

For more information on, the Lake County Schools Hall of Fame, or to view the virtual hall of fame and its existing members, please visit